Biofiltration as odor treatment technique

A biofilter is one of the most economic and simplest odour control systems available. For a good functioning biofilter however, several conditions are to be fullfilled.

For biofilter applications, the filling material or biomass is composed of organic material such as bark chips, compost, peat, heath, coco, root wood, expanded clay granules, etc. in a well defined mixing ratio, or in several layers. This natural “filter bed” or biomass can be contained in an open or closed biofilter and is surrounded by a thin water film. Part of the pollutants in the emission flow directed through the biomass will already dissolve in this water film; part of the pollutants is retained by the biomass particles and the remaining pollutants will be further decomposed by the microorganisms present in the biomass. These microorganisms will collaborate to decompose the remaining pollutants out of the emission flow. The microorganisms partly feed themselves with the remaining pollutants, partly with the biomass itself. Water and oxygen are of vital importance for the microorganisms; both these substances are, in normal operating circumstances, present in the biomass. The residual of these decomposition processes are CO2, H2O, sulfate, nitrate and similar.

Projects

Biofiltration – biofilter – odor control and emission treatment

A biofilter is one of the most economic and simplest odour control systems available. For a good functioning biofilter however, several conditions are to be fullfilled.

Biofilter operating principle

For biofilter applications, the filling material or biomass is composed of organic material such as bark chips, compost, peat, heath, coco, root wood, expanded clay granules, etc. in a well defined mixing ratio, or in several layers. This natural “filter bed” or biomass can be contained in an open or closed biofilter and is surrounded by a thin water film. Part of the pollutants in the emission flow directed through the biomass will already dissolve in this water film; part of the pollutants is retained by the biomass particles and the remaining pollutants will be further decomposed by the microorganisms present in the biomass. These microorganisms will collaborate to decompose the remaining pollutants out of the emission flow. The microorganisms partly feed themselves with the remaining pollutants, partly with the biomass itself. Water and oxygen are of vital importance for the microorganisms; both these substances are, in normal operating circumstances, present in the biomass. The residual of these decomposition processes are CO2, H2O, sulfate, nitrate and similar. As the biomass gets saturated with pollutants and residuals and gets crumbled by the action of the microorganisms, it is to be replaced periodically. The frequence of these biomass’ replacements is depending on the emission flows offered and the charges present in the waste gasses. Not all emission flows can be treated in a biofilter. The pollutants present in the emission flows will determine wich bacterial groups will survive and/or be predominant in the biomass (at the same time, under the influence of temperature and moisture content, a certain microclimate and balance will develop in the biomass). Every change in these factors can severely destabilize the efficiency of the biofilter.

Biofiltration : important parameters for an efficient biofilter

Constant moisture content: Preservation of a optimal moisture content in the biomass is an essential criterion for a good functioning biofilter. The biomass should be neither too dry, neither too wet. Too much humidity can make the biomass clot together, the air resistance will increase, the oxygen level will decrease, the filter itself will become a source of odor nuisance. Therefore, it is of utmost importance to prehumidify the emission flow, prior to direct it through the biofilter. This prehumidification unit has to be perfectly adjusted in order to create the correct moisture content within the biofilter.
Constant air supply(emission flow and oxygen level) : There should be a relatively constant emission flow. When the emissions can only be produced at a rate of 7 to 8 hours/day during 5 days/week, with weekend breaks and short and longer holiday stops, a biofilter will not be a good solution. The microbial growth cannot survive without permanent oxygen supply. The emission flow should also be free of dust and grease.
Constant temperature:(ambient temperature) : for a good development of the microbial growth a temperature of 15 to 20 ° to max 30 °C is ideal. Lower temperatures will slow the process and higher temperatures will cause of proliferation of bacteria, that will destabilize the entire biomass.
Waste load as constant as possible : A lower pollutant load isn’t a problem as such, and will only transcribe into a higher elimination result (only on condition that the other parameters remain at a constant level). At a high or peak pollutant load, the biomass will clot together at an accelerated speed, because of the sudden increase in microbial growth.
No high concentrations of toxic and/or acidifying components: Very toxic substances will kill the bacteria. Too high concentrations of sulphurous, chlorous and nitrogenous organic components as well as ammonia will eventually acidify the biomass and decrease the its efficiency. This can partly be prevented by adding certain additives to the biomass, by replacing the biomass more frequently or by installing an upstream chemical gas scrubber.
Custom-made biomass: The biomass should be entirely adapted to the emission flow offered. The biomass shouldn’t be too fine nor too coarse, the air should be evenly distributed over the entire biofilter. The biomass should be coarse enough to allow a sufficiently large exchange surface, but should also contain enough organic material for a satisfactory microbial growth and a good living environment for the bacteria. Additives such as lime and dolomite can prevent a premature acidification. The biomass is preferrably installed on a grid, to improve the air distribution. For special applications, it might be appropriate to used an inoculated biomass (inoculation with specific bacteria depinding on the kind of application). In all cases, the biomass should be periodically replaced, in function of the acidification and the salification of the biomass and the pressure drop over the biofilter (because of the compaction of the biomass). The lifetime of the biomass is significantly varying and is to be set between 6 months and 5 years.

Biofilter advantages

  • Low investment cost (simple construction)
  • Good result for biologically decomposable components in relatively low concentrations (polishing technique)

Biofilter disadvantages

  • Takes a relatively large surface
  • Biomass needs to be replaced periodically
  • Exact moisture content and pH need to be monitored accurately, a continuous aeration is vital

Biofiltration : most important application areas

  • Wastewater treatment plants
  • Agro-industry (composting, food industry, meat processing and fish processing industry)

Biofiltration: traitement de l’air en compostage

Le biofiltre est un des procédés de désodorisation les plus économiques et les plus simples disponibles sur le marché. Mais pour avoir un biofiltre qui donne satisfaction, pas mal de conditions sont à remplir.

Pour les applications de biofiltration, le matériau filtrant ou la biomasse est composé d’une matière organique tel que de l’écorce, de la tourbe, des fibres de coco, du compost, de la bruyère, des rhizomes de bois, des granulés d’argile expansé, etc. dans un rapport de mélange bien définie, ou en plusieurs couches. Ce support filtrant naturel ou biomasse peut être introduit dans des biofiltres ouverts ou fermés. La biomasse est enveloppée d’une fine couche d’eau. Une partie des polluants, présents dans les rejets gazeux qui vont traverser le filtre, va déjà se dissoudre dans cette eau; une autre partie sera retenue par les particules de la biomasse et une dernière partie sera décomposée par les microorganismes présents dans la biomasse. Ces microorganismes vont collaborés à la décomposition des derniers polluants présents dans les rejets gazeux. Les microorganismes se nourissent en partie avec les restes des polluants et en partie avec la biomasse elle-même. Comme pour tout être vivant, l’eau et l’oxygène sont d’une importance vitale pour les microorganismes; ces deux substances étant présents dans la biomasse dans des conditions réelles d’exploitation. Le résidu de ces procédés de décomposition sont le CO2, l’H2O, le sulfate, le nitrate et similaires.

Projets

Biofiltre – biofiltration : traitement de l’air en compostage – désodorisation

Le biofiltre est un des procédés de désodorisation les plus économiques et les plus simples, disponibles sur le marché. Mais pour avoir un biofiltre qui donne satisfaction, pas mal de conditions sont à remplir.

Biofiltration : principe de fonctionnement

Pour les applications de biofiltration, le matériau filtrant ou la biomasse est composé d’une matière organique tel que de l’écorce, de la tourbe, des fibres de coco, du compost, de la bruyère, des rhizomes de bois, des granulés d’argile expansé, etc. dans un rapport de mélange bien définie, ou en plusieurs couches. Ce support filtrant naturel ou biomasse peut être introduit dans des biofiltres ouverts ou fermés. La biomasse est enveloppée d’une fine couche d’eau. Une partie des polluants, présents dans les rejets gazeux qui vont traverser le filtre, va déjà se dissoudre dans cette eau; une autre partie sera retenue par les particules de la biomasse et une dernière partie sera décomposée par les microorganismes présents dans la biomasse. Ces microorganismes vont collaborés à la décomposition des derniers polluants présents dans les rejets gazeux. Les microorganismes se nourissent en partie avec les restes des polluants et en partie avec la biomasse elle-même. Comme pour tout être vivant, l’eau et l’oxygène sont d’une importance vitale pour les microorganismes; ces deux substances étant présents dans la biomasse dans des conditions réelles d’exploitation. Le résidu de ces procédés de décomposition sont le CO2, l’H2O, le sulfate, le nitrate et similaires. Quand la biomasse devient saturée avec les polluants et les résidues et s’est émiettée par l’action des microorganismes, elle sera remplacée périodiquement; la fréquence de ce remplacement dépend entièrement de la composition des rejets gazeux offerts et des charges qui y sont présents. Une biofiltre ne peut pas s’utiliser pour l’épuration et la désodorisation de n’importe quel genre de rejet gazeux. Les polluants présents dans les rejets gazeux vont déterminer quels groupes de bactéries vont survivre et/ou devenir dominants dans la biomasse (également sous influence de la température et de la teneur en humidité, un certain microclimat va se développer dans la biomasse). Toute alternance dans les facteurs décrits ci-dessus peuvent sévèrement déstabiliser le bon fonctionnement du biofiltre.

Biofiltration : les paramètres importants pour un bon fonctionnement du biofiltre

Teneur en humidité constante: La préservation d’une teneur en humidité constante dans la biomasse est un critère essentiel pour le bon fonctionnement d’un biofiltre. La biomasse ne devrait pas être ni trop sèche ni trop humide. Sous l’influence d’une teneur en humidité trop élevée, la biomasse peut devenir grumelueuse, ce qui va augmenter la résistance de l’air, faire diminuer le taux d’oxygène; et le biofiltre finira par devenir lui-même source de nuisance olfactive. Pour cette raison, il est d’une importance primordiale de préhumidifier les rejets gazeux avant qu’ils n’entrent dans le biofiltre. Cette unité de préhumidification doit être parfaitement mise au point afin de créer la teneur en humidité idéale au sein du biofiltre.
Alimentation en air constante (débit de rejets gazeux et taux d’oxygène) : Il devrait y avoir une alimentation en air ou rejets gazeux constante. En cas de production de rejets gazeux pendant 7 ou 8 heures/jour pendant 5 jours/semaine seulement, avec des intervals de non-productiveté pendant les weekends, jours fériés et autres congés, la mise en oeuvre d’un système de biofiltration n’est pas une bonne solution. Les microorganismes ne peuvent pas survivre sans alimentation en air et oxygène permanente. Les rejets gazeux doivent également être dépoussiérés et dégraissés.
Température constante (température ambiante): le bon développement de la microbiologie demande une température entre 15 et 20 ° jusqu’à 30 °C maximum. Des températures plus basses vont rallentir le processus et des températures plus élevées vont provoquer la prolifération de la microbiologie, ce qui va déstabiliser l’entièreté de la biomasse.
Une charge de polluants assez constante : une charge de polluants plus basse n’est pas réellement un problème, mais cela va uniquement se traduire en un résultat supérieure d’élimination (uniquement à condition que les autres paramètres restent à un niveau constant). A une charge de polluants très haute ou une charge de pointe, la biomasse va devenir grumeleuse et finir par se tasser plus rapidement, à cause de la croissance excessive des microorganismes.
Pas de substances toxiques ou acédifiantes en haute concentration: Des substances très toxiques vont tuer les bactéries. Des concentrations trop hautes de composantes organiques sulfurées, chlorées et azotées de même que de l’ammoniac vont acédifier la biomasse et faire diminuer son efficacité. Ceci peut partiellement être évité en ajoutant des additifs à la biomasse, en remplaçant la biomasse plus fréquemment ou en installant un laveur de gaz chimique en amont du biofiltre.
La biomasse sur mesure: Le biomasse devrait être entièrement adaptée à la composition des rejets gazeux à traiter. La biomasse ne devrait pas être ni trop fine, ni trop grosse, l’air est à distribuer uniformément sur tout le biofiltre. Les particules dans biomasse devraient être assez grosses pour  obtenir une surface d’échange assez substantielle, mais devraient également contenir assez de matière organique (plus fine) pour permettre une croissance suffisante de la microbiologie et un bon cadre de vie pour les bactéries. Des additifs tels que du chaux et de la dolomite protègent contre une acédification prématurée. La biomasse s’installe de préférence sur une grille, pour permettre une bonne distribution de l’air. Pour des applications spécifiques, la mise en oeuvre d’une biomasse inoculée pourrait être appropriée (inoculation avec des bactéries spécifiques selon le genre d’application). Dans tous les cas, la biomasse est à remplacer régulièrement, en fonction de l’acédification et de la salification de la biomasse et la chute de pression dans le biofiltre (à cause de la compaction de la biomasse). La durée de service de la biomasse varie énormément et se situe entre 6 mois et 5 ans.

Biofiltre : les avantages

  • le coût d’investissement est plutôt bas (construction simple)
  • un bon résultat pour les composantes biodégradables à des concentrations relativement basses (procédé de polissage)

Biofiltre : les inconvénients

  • Prend une surface relativement large
  • La biomasse doit être remplacée régulièrement
  • La teneur en humidité exacte, de même que le pH sont à suivre de près, une bonne aération est vitale

Biofiltration : les domaines d’application les plus importants

  • les stations d’épuration des eaux usées
  • l’agro-industrie (compostage, industrie agro-alimentaire)